Off the Tracks with Michele: Chicago Cultural Mile

Screen Shot 2016-06-06 at 11.46.43 AM.png

Last weekend I got to have a “staycation” in Chicago and made some amazing art discoveries! My sweetheart ran the Soldier Field 10Miler, so we stayed in the south loop on Michigan Avenue near Roosevelt Road. This area has been dubbed The Cultural Mile (chicagoculturalmile.org) Who knew??
We ventured a block or so west and started walking south along Wabash to check out the neighborhood. We started seeing some really fun murals on the sides of the buildings. I just happened to glance to the side when I saw a mural that one of my artist friends had painted. “X Marks the Milky Way” by Renee Robbins (reneerobbins.com). I own a few pieces by Renee, and to see her vibrant, colorful work on such a grand scale was a thrill!! There was a couple checking it out, and I couldn’t help but blurt out “My friend painted this!!” The Wabash Arts Corridor is definitely a walk worth taking.


The next afternoon we decided to head north on Michigan Avenue. We discovered beautiful parks filled with beautiful art! One piece in particular caught my eye. From the street, it looked like a giant Rubik’s Cube. As we got closer, we realized it wasn’t a cube, but more the size of a train car. Getting even closer, we discovered that it was covered in thousands of names. Artist’s names!! The piece is by Tony Tasset and is called “Artists Monument 2014”(kavigupta.com/artist/tonytasset). Well that really piqued my interest!! I started searching for names and found a few familiar ones!

Be adventurous this summer and explore our beautiful city! I promise you will find something beautiful and unexpected!!

-Michele

Leave a Reply

